Children's Hospital Colorado

Jack: One Family's Journey with Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia

CDH baby boy Jack among pillows.

Driving to our first ultrasound appointment to learn the sex of our baby, my husband Steve asked if I was nervous. I remember thinking it was a funny question: I didn't feel nervous at all. When we found out I was pregnant, we were thrilled: we owned a home, had good jobs; everything was exactly as we had planned. And as an OB nurse, I had seen hundreds of healthy babies born. I truly believed that nothing would ever be wrong with our baby. I was mistaken.

At 15 weeks, we found out we were having a boy – who we’d name Jack – and were told that his heart was on the wrong side of his body. The experience was like a scene from a dramatic movie, in which the ultrasound techs keep looking and looking at one area, and you start to get nervous because you know they see something – but no one is saying anything. A nurse came into the room to look, and said, "Hmm, uh huh. I see it, too." Finally, the doctor entered and the mood turned even more serious. There was an abnormality with Jack’s development, the doctor told us, and we were referred to Children's Hospital Colorado for a more in-depth look.

As local residents, we knew of the hospital’s strong reputation, so we felt confident prior to the echocardiogram (ECHO) of Jack’s heart. During the ECHO, the fetal cardiology team saw a perfectly normal heart – it was just on the wrong side of his tiny, developing body. Having a medical background, I found that to be odd, though my husband was happy to accept that we had a one-in-a-million baby, a ninja, a special right-sided heart baby. But the real bad news was yet to come.

Jack is diagnosed with congenital diaphragmatic hernia